Club History

The Society’s Archive & History
1920 Members and equipmentThe society was founded in 1919 following the Great War and has been continually licensed since then.

This page lists the archive material available.

The Waverley Amateur Radio Society has quite a bit of documentation relating to the pre-WWII period. Part of it was obtained in 1985 when the Department of Communications, made available to us copies of all correspondence between it and the club going back to 1920. Another useful source was the address by the then president, Lionel Walters, to those attending the 21st Annual Re-union Dinner in 1940 (note that some of his facts disagree with the official files). Click on the entries below for some fascinating details of our early history (Use your BACK button to return here).

Some who later became club members were among the 27 licensed radio experimenters in Australia in 1911. They include with Licence number (callsign)
Frank Leverrier (XEN)
Malcolm Perry (XCP)
Ray Allsop (XCA), who later founded the Raycophone radio company

For further information on the early history of radio licensing in Australia prior to 1929 see the comprehensive article by the late Colin Mackinnon VK2DYM.

1919 Founding MembersUse the links below to view our archive material.

Australia's oldest continuously licenced amateur radio club


Forgot Password?

Join Us